Ministry of Power, Aso Villa, Others Faces Power Outage Over Debt

0 160

The Abuja Electricity Distribution Company (AEDC) has revealed that a total of 86 ministries, agencies, and departments of the government collectively owe the company a staggering sum of N47 billion.

Among the notable debtors listed in the public notice are key government entities, including the Presidential Villa, the National Security Adviser, the Ministry of the Federal Capital Territory overseen by Nyesom Wike, and Adebayo Adelabu’s Ministry of Power. According to the notice issued by the AEDC management, the Presidential Villa owes N923.9 million, while the National Security Adviser’s office owes a significant N95.9 billion.

Additionally, the Ministry of the Federal Capital Territory is indebted to the tune of N7.57 billion, and the Ministry of Power, led by Adebayo Adelabu, owes N78 million. Expressing concern over the long outstanding unpaid bills, the AEDC emphasized that previous attempts to secure payment from these government entities have been unsuccessful.

In response, the company has warned that it will disconnect the delinquent MDAs within 10 days if they fail to settle their debts.

Source: Punch

Leave A Reply